You’re Next!

Screenshot_2015-05-03-19-15-13-1

It’s so easy to want to give up. It’s so easy to throw in the towel because we feel like we’ve spent forever planting seeds with no signs of a harvest. In a world filled with billions of people, it’s easy to wonder whether God even knows our name or whether He even knows that we exist.

Recently, I was thinking about my blog. I wondered whether I was truly making a difference or just wasting my time. I wondered whether a few words on a computer screen could actually make a difference in someone’s life. That’s when God reminded me of what He said in Matthew 18:12: “If a man has a hundred sheep and one of them wanders away, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others on the hills and go out to search for the one that is lost” (NLT)?

Many of us erroneously think that God only cares about the masses. However, while He does care for us collectively, He also cares about us individually. According to the passage above, God notices when even one of us has wandered away—when our hearts are broken, when our faith is low, or even when we have given up on Him and walked away. The above passage assures us that He will leave everything to pursue us and bring us back to Him.

As God gave me revelation, I began to apply it to my blog. Even if only one person were to ever read my blog, God’s purpose would have been accomplished because he cares about the one. While my blog might not be read by millions of people, I am still able to see God move through my expression of His words.  My blog has been accessed in nations where the gospel isn’t always welcomed. Therefore, if one person in a foreign nation “accidentally” stumbles onto my page and is introduced to the Word of God, then my job is done.

Tonight, if you are feeling overlooked and as if God has forgotten about you, remember that you are one out of a hundred. Know that God sees, and most importantly, He cares. “What is the price of two sparrows—one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it” (Matthew 10:29, NLT).

Know that if you are waiting for God to move in your life, He will. If you feel like everyone around you is prospering and you are standing still, know that God hasn’t forgotten about you. Keep faith. You’re up next! You are the one!


Leave a comment