What is it about the cross that sends those who disagree with its message into a fit of rage? These days, it seems as if you can’t even mention being a Christian without someone telling some traumatic story about a Christian  who offended them in the past. As Christians, we are expected to sit there passively as others laden us with their previous hurts and expectations.  At times, my sinful  flesh yearns to reference these people to the story of Cain and Able where Cain asked God, “Am I my brother’s keeper?” I guess that would be un-Christian like. However, all kidding aside, I must say that it is unfair to have any one individual carry the weight of any group.  With that being, I digress.

What is it about the cross that angers people? It seems to me that everyone else gets to express their opinions and be shielded by the premise of, “This is who I am, and this is what I believe.” Most people applaud the masses for having the courage to express themselves. However, the moment that Christians utter the name of Jesus, the brigades of attackers are on full alert.  Where are our salutes of praise when we stand for what we believe in? How come no one ever labels us courageous?  In fact, the world’s  response to us is quite the opposite. They label our Biblical accounts fables or fairytales. They mock our God and call Him a mere myth. The world ridicules our beliefs. Where are our freedoms?  Critics, and even some Christians, say that the Bible has been written and altered by the hands of man. Whether or not this is true is irrelevant to this argument.  The fact is that the Bible is what Christians choose to believe.  When others cite and assert their belief, the world does not ask them for authentication. They merely respect their opinion. So today, as I served in this one time role as my brother’s keeper, I ask that you respect our opinion and beliefs just as you’ve asked us to respect yours!

