Have you ever looked around and saw all the world’s travesties and wondered, “Where is God?” Have you ever felt weighted by the burdens of your own life and questioned whether God exists or whether He cares for you? Well, if you answered “no” to either or both of these questions, then this post is not for you.

A few weeks ago, I was watching an episode of a popular cable talk show. The host quoted a statistic stating that the rates of those who identified themselves as Christians were declining. The numbers were particularly low among Millennials. As I was wondering why such was the case, God laid Joshua 24:31 and Judges 2:6-12 on my heart.

“The people of Israel served the LORD throughout the lifetime of Joshua and of the elders who outlived him–those who had personally experienced all that the LORD had done for Israel,” (Joshua 24:31, NLT).

After Joshua had dismissed the Israelites, they went to take possession of the land, each to their own inheritance. The people served the Lord throughout the lifetime of Joshua and of the elders who outlived him and who had seen all the great things the Lord had done for Israel. Joshua son of Nun, the servant of the Lord, died at the age of a hundred and ten. And they buried him in the land of his inheritance, at Timnath Heres in the hill country of Ephraim, north of Mount Gaash. 10 After that whole generation had been gathered to their ancestors, another generation grew up who knew neither the Lord nor what he had done for Israel. 11 Then the Israelites did evil in the eyes of the Lord and served the Baals. 12 They forsook the Lord, the God of their ancestors, who had brought them out of Egypt. They followed and worshiped various gods of the peoples around them. They aroused the Lord’s anger, (Judges 2:6-12).

Get this! The passages say that the people didn’t turn from God until after Joshua and those under his leadership had died—those who had personally experienced what God had done for Israel. I read this the other day, and it stopped me in my tracks. Notice what the passages were saying. The younger generation did not believe nor worship God because they neither saw nor heard of His goodness. Much like today. Many of our youth have never seen nor heard of the goodness of God from their predecessors. We can’t talk about God at work. We can’t talk about Him at school. We can’t talk about Him in government. So, we just stop talking about Him. Many of us who have seen the goodness of God have become conditioned to being quiet. As a result, we are raising a generation that does not know the God of Israel and are worshiping the gods of the people around them. I wonder how many time when we ask the question, “Where is God,” we miss seeing Him because we don’t recognize what He looks like. Are we so wrapped up in our circumstances that we are not telling the younger generation the miracles that we have seen and experienced? I know that I have been guilty of doing so in my life. There have been so many good things that have happened in my life that I have kept to myself. How could people truly know my God if they cannot see Him working in my life?

Here is the simple truth: Life IS challenging. Sometimes the road before us is toilsome and difficult. But in life we only get two choices: Roll over and play dead or dig our heels in and press forward. We must remember that God hears and answers our prayers—ALL OF THEM. What many of us fail to realize is that when we moan and worry, that too is a form of prayer, and God WILL answer those prayers.

26 The Lord said to Moses and Aaron: 27 “How long will this wicked community grumble against me? I have heard the complaints of these grumbling Israelites. 28 So tell them, ‘As surely as I live, declares the Lord, I will do to you the very thing I heard you say: 29 In this wilderness your bodies will fall—every one of you twenty years old or more who was counted in the census and who has grumbled against me. 30 Not one of you will enter the land I swore with uplifted hand to make your home, except Caleb son of Jephunneh and Joshua son of Nun. 31 As for your children that you said would be taken as plunder, I will bring them in to enjoy the land you have rejected. 32 But as for you, your bodies will fall in this wilderness. 33 Your children will be shepherds here for forty years, suffering for your unfaithfulness, until the last of your bodies lies in the wilderness. 34 For forty years—one year for each of the forty days you explored the land—you will suffer for your sins and know what it is like to have me against you.’ 35 I, the Lord, have spoken, and I will surely do these things to this whole wicked community, which has banded together against me. They will meet their end in this wilderness; here they will die, (Numbers 14:26-35, NIV).

Thank God, that by grace, each day, we are new creatures in Christ (2 Corinthians 5:17) and that God is faithful even when we are not (2 Timothy 2:13). With that said, we must still remember that Proverbs 18:21 says that the power of life and death lies in the tongue. Day after day, the Israelites complained and declared that God would not promote them. So, finally, He answer their prayers, and many of them died before seeing the promises that God had in store for them.

Lord, I know that there are people reading this devotional today who are hurting. Right now, it might feel as though they are barely putting one foot in front of the other to keep going. They might just be going through the motions. They might even feel as though you have forgotten about them. Lord, I pray that you touch them in the ways that only you can. Remind them that you are faithful and that you have a plan for their lives. Heal them, Lord. Restore them. In Jesus’ name. Amen!

