Did you know that scientific research says that when one sense is lost, the other senses heighten? In fact, some studies of brain imaging have found that people who are blind can locate sounds using both the auditory cortex AND the occipital lobe, the region of the brain that processes visual stimuli.

Let’s conduct our own study.  For the next 30 seconds, close your eyes and concentrate on the world around you. What did you hear? For me, I heard the sultry sound of an alto saxophone as it blared a rhythmic jazz melody.  I also heard something that I hadn’t noticed before–the subtle bass that accompanied the sax. I heard the sounds of footsteps as they move towards and away from me. I noticed voices and laughter from distant conversations. With my eyes closed, I was so much more aware of my world around me.

What about our Christian life? How many of us are missing out on God’s best because our experiences are solely driven by what our eyes perceive? How many times in the natural have our sight deceived us?

This morning, I skimmed through a rather disturbing story on the Internet. It was about a pastor who decided that he would spend 2014 “without God.” After his year long journey, he decided that he was now an atheist.  Now, I don’t know what life experiences drove him to that drastic decision.  My speculation is that at some point, he felt disappointed by God.  Maybe God didn’t come through in the way he thought that he would. If we were truly honest with ourselves, we would admit that many of us have questioned whether a life with Christ is worth the heartache.  Even John the Baptist, who was sent to pave the way for Christ, questioned his authenticity before he was behead. The truth is, we ALL wrestle with unbelief.

After reading the article about the pastor’s year-long quest, I decided to go on a quest of my own, which I hope all of you will join me on. For the next 21 days, I am going to live like I am blind.  Wow! That’s a huge assertion!  What does that mean? For the next 21 days, I will be intentional about hearing what God has said and NOT focusing on what I see.

Remember when Paul and Silas were arrested? They had done nothing wrong.  However, instead of being upset during one of their darkest moments, they decided that they would pray and praise God. When they did, God not only delivered them, he made their enemies their footstools.

Some say it takes 21 days to form a habit. Whether or not 21 days is the magic number is irrelevant.  The point is this: The more we repeat a series of actions, the more those actions become ingrained in our character.  The hope of this challenge is that for the next 21 days, we will focus on JUST God. We will forget about who did what, who did whom and who did squat. For the next 21 days, we will fix our eyes on the sparrow and we will “see” what it looks like to truly walk by faith and not by sight. For the next 21 days, we will make a conscious effort to pray and praise God despite our circumstances. Even if the distance between our current circumstances and God’s promises looks immeasurable to the naked eyes, we WILL press into God. We will glorify Him. We will bless Him.

In His Word, God said that our faith could move mountains.  Could you imagine what the manifestation of our faith in our lives could look like? Well, let’s see! See you tomorrow for day 1.

