Shortly before Christ died, He made a promise. He promised that believers would be able to do the same or greater things than He had done.

12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it, (John 14:12-14, NIV).

Wow, that’s quite some promise. Yet, when I look around, I wonder whether we are truly experiencing those greater things. Are we truly a faithless generation?

No, I think there are many who call themselves faithful in our generation. I just think the majority of our generation has a misguided sense of how faith works.

The Bibles says faith without works is dead, (James 2:17). Notice when Jesus healed the paralytic, He told him to pick up his mat and go home, (Mark 2:1-12). In our generation, many of us want God to bless us without having to work for it. My friend, the only free gift in the Kingdom is salvation (Ephesians 2:8-9). Everything else requires work.  Please don’t misunderstand and think that I am saying that we have to earn or work for God’s favor.  We don’t.  However, we have to work to maintain the blessings he gives us!  Think about it this way.  Imagine if someone gifted you with a brand new car–fully loaded and fully fueled–yet you never refueled or serviced it.  Would it continue to work?

I believe the reason why many of us have yet to experience the greater work that God mentioned in the Bible is because we have not yet learned to fully release and exercise our faith. The Word says, “The eyes of the Lord search the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him…”2 Chronicles 16:9. God is constantly looking for those whom He can trust with His vision. However, there is a cost. Jesus talks about that cost in Luke 9:57-62:

57 As they were walking along the road, a man said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.”

58 Jesus replied, “Foxes have dens and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.”

59 He said to another man, “Follow me.”

But he replied, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.”

60 Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and proclaim the kingdom of God.”

61 Still another said, “I will follow you, Lord; but first let me go back and say goodbye to my family.”

62 Jesus replied, “No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God,” (NIV).

I believe many people miss the significance of the first verse due to its metaphoric nature. Jesus said. “Foxes have holes and birds have nest, yet the Son of Man does not have a place to lay His head.” There are two important principles in that verse. First, Jesus, the Son of Man, is looking for a place to lay his head. “Christ is also the head of the church, which is his body. He is the beginning, supreme over all who rise from the dead. So he is first in everything,” Colossians 1:18, (NLT). If you put these two verses together, it tells you that the Son of Man is looking for a place to lay His Church. Many of us are looking for the church behind four walls, but the Church begins in our hearts. Remember earlier, we said, “The eyes of the Lord search the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him…”2 Chronicles 16:9. Jesus is looking for a place to lay his head, the Church.

The second important point that I think many miss in the verse, “Foxes have holes and birds have nest, yet the Son of Man does not have a place to lay His head” is the reference to Jesus as the Son of Man. We just mentioned that God is looking for people with whom to trust His vision. In other words, God is looking for leaders. The mention of Jesus as the Son of Man is crucial. “For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many,” Matthew 20:18, NLT.

In order to lead, we have to know how to serve. Many of us want to lead, but we don’t want to serve. Leadership sometimes requires that we roll up our proverbial sleeves and get our hands dirty.

The above verse could have easily referenced Jesus as the Son of God, yet it didn’t. Jesus knew who He was and walked in that authority. He didn’t have to hold his title over others in order to lead them.

So, what are these greater things that Christ talked about? The Bible was filled with recollections of the impossible and the miraculous. Jesus healed the lame, the leper and the blind. He multiplied a morsel and fed a village. He thought of ingenious ways of creating revenue—drachmas from the belly of a fish. Jesus promised that not only would we be doing these things, but we would be doing more amazing things. Now, that’s a promise! Today, I pray over the greater things in my generation.  I pray over the future curers of cancer, HIV, diabetes, paralysis and all other sicknesses. Today, I pray that people will be able to lay hands on each other and cure each other, including exorcising their “demons.” I pray that Christian entrepreneurs will launch their billion-dollar industries and advance the Kingdom. I pray that Christian marriages will be consummated and Christian families will be restored. I pray that in my life, and in the lives of those who believe, there will be greater things. In Jesus’ name, I pray! Amen!

