I’ve heard it said that the closer you get to your blessings/purpose/”destiny”, the more adversity you face. Well, if trials are a measure of blessings, then the floodgates of heaven must be getting ready to burst forth because the devil has been really busy lately.

The Bible says “12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places,” (Ephesians 6:12). So often, we think our battle is against men and powers of this world, but it is not. It’s against the darkness. The Bible also terms it as spiritual wickedness.

Lately, in my own life, I have faced a great deal of opposition. During these moments, resistance can feel omnipresent. Some days, it feels as if I take one step forward only to spiral backwards down the staircase. My inner cynicism starts to build. I try to console myself by saying that God must have something AMAZING in store for me. Why else would the devil waste his time with me?

The flesh is weak, and we all have a breaking point before we crack. Right now, many of us are walking around with frayed edges. We keep praying to God, but there seems to be no relent. Our trials outnumber our rewards.

Today, an incident occurred that made me angrier than I had been in a long time.   When I stepped outside of my circumstances, I realized that the incident was a recurrent theme and that each time the situation (same script, different cast) occurred it elicited the same reaction in me—anger, worry and more anger. Sometimes, if we do not curb our anger, we can find ourselves even being angry with God.

As I brewed in my anger, I reflected on the story of Job. In the book of Job, the devil asked God for permission to test Job. God agreed. The amazing thing about Job was that no matter what Job went through, he refused to curse God. Could you imagine how the devil must have been waiting expectantly for Job to curse God? But he didn’t. Even through all of his adversity, he did not curse God. He continued to bless Him.

After my reflection, I had an epiphany. The devil wanted me to curse God. Here is the thing about the devil: He is tricky, sticky and tacky. He will stop at nothing to shame God. This includes using people to do his bidding. Unfortunately, many of us leave ourselves open for the devil to freely use. Remember Judas? The bible says that right before Judas betrayed Jesus, Satan entered him, (Luke 22:3). We have to be prudent to the devil’s attacks. If we resist him, he will flee (James 4:7). Know that even in our deepest trials and our darkest road’s God is there. He is a light to our feet (Psalm 119:105). Do no give satan the glory and curse God. As painful as our wounds might be, we must rejoice in our sorrows. “We know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose,” (Romans 8:28, NLT). When the devil comes to attack you, call upon the name of the Lord. ”The Lord shall cause thine enemies who rise up against thee to be smitten before thy face; they shall come out against thee one way, and flee before thee seven ways,” (Deuteronomy 28:7, KJV). Instead of cursing the name of God, praise Him! Praise Him! Praise Him!  Fall on your knees and praise Him.

After Job’s trial, God restored him.  He not only restored what he once had.  He gave him twice as much as he had before.  Right now many of you are going through a Job season.  God is allowing you to withstand being tested.  Resist the urge to give up on God.  Do not curse Him. He WILL reward you for you faithfulness.  He is so good that He will be faithful even when you are not.

