I am a part of the hip-hop generation. One of the things I love about the music is that there is always a call (of sorts) to action: “Where my girls at,” “Where my dogs at,” or “Where my people at.” Today my question is: Where my Christians at? Say what? Where my Christians at?

This topic has been brewing inside me for quite some time. So, if you are faint of heart, judgmental or easily offended, I suggest that you stop reading now, because I’m about to go in!

Our world is in turmoil. We are definitely living out prophesy. According to 2 Timothy 3: 1-5:

You should know this, Timothy, that in the last days there will be very difficult times. For people will love only themselves and their money. They will be boastful and proud, scoffing at God, disobedient to their parents, and ungrateful. They will consider nothing sacred. They will be unloving and unforgiving; they will slander others and have no self-control. They will be cruel and hate what is good. They will betray their friends, be reckless, be puffed up with pride, and love pleasure rather than God. They will act religious, but they will reject the power that could make them godly. Stay away from people like that!

This description written over 2000 years ago is an accurate depiction of the state of affairs of our current world. Today, men ARE lover of themselves. In some circles, “cash rules everything around me” (Wu-Tang Clan reference for all my hip-hop heads). Bottom-lines and bottom-dollars usurp integrity and honesty. The concept of more never seems to be enough. Our insatiable appetites for acquisitions have bred a new form of greed where people are willing to do just about anything to acquire more “stuff.” As I watch the world around me, I feel as if our world is on the cusp of moral bankruptcy. The moral fabric of our culture has waned. Our word is no longer bond. “Yeses” are not “yeses,” and “nos” are not “nos.”   Heaven forbid that we watch the evening news. There are more stories about misgivings and misdoings than there are stories of altruism. Sometimes, when I walk outside the sanctity of my home, I feel as though I am a sole voice in the wilderness, like I am surrounded by a bandit of vultures waiting for me to stumble and fall so that they can ravish my carcass. My heart cries in the face of the world’s travesties. I know that I can’t be the only one whose heart is aching. Where my Christians at?

This is a call to action! Where are the lights and the salts of the Earth? Praying and quivering in the corner is NOT where God meant us to be. There is a place for prayer, but God also urged us to action.

Where my Christians at? God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and love and a sound mind. In the face of trials and adversity, we should take heart because God has overcome the world. For far too long we have allowed the tail to wag the dog. We are head and not the tail. We are above and not beneath. We are leader and not followers.

Where my Christians at? Many of us are “scrimmaging” for change rather than mining for gold. We are too concerned with rocking the boat than we are walking on water. We have become absolute relativists. “To each his own” has become the mantra of a generation. Newsflash, some things are just WRONG, point blank.

Where my Christians at? We are too busy conforming to the world. We’d rather be tolerated than offended. We’d rather blend in than stand out. Guess what? Jesus stood out. He comforted the afflicted. He confronted injustice. He took a stand for His generation and the generations to come. What are you standing for?

