According to popular belief, it takes 21 days to establish a habit. That idea stemmed from Maxwell Maltz’s book Psycho-Cybernetics, a book on improving self-image. However, there are critics who assert that the 21-day theory is a misinterpretation of his work. The truth is, it doesn’t matter. Let’s leave scientific theory off the table and look at common sense for a second. Common sense tells us that if we keep doing something over and over, then it will become a habit. I don’t know whether 21 is the magic number. I would imagine that the number of days to establish a habit would differ for each person. I would also imagine that the longer an individual commits to a course of action, the more likely he or she will continue doing it. When trying to develop a habit, the hardest step is not the commitment to continue. The hardest step is the decision to start.

In my life, it is God’s grace that has allowed me to achieve all that I have. In fact, Philippian 4:13 say that I can do all thing through Christ who strengthens me. Notice, the Bible said “all” things, not “some” things. Therefore, I want to accomplish “all things” in my life. In order to do so, I have to establish some new habit, and I am going to do it in 25 days. Why 25? ”The number twenty-five in the Bible symbolizes ‘grace upon grace.’ It is composed of 20 (meaning redemption) and five (grace) or grace multiplied (5 x 5),” (biblestudy.org).  In everything I do, I want to do it with God’s grace.  So over the next 25 days, I would like to start a challenge called “25 Days of Fearlessness.”

Being fearless can often appear daunting.  The spirit of fear constantly threatens to overpower and immobilize us.  Fortunately, God did not give us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7).  The best way for us to understand who we are in God is to simply understand who God is.  The challenge over the next 25 days is to chronicle God’s magnitude in our surroundings.  Take a picture of something that you believe illustrates God’s enormity.  If you don’t have a camera, write it down.  Describe it.  Journal the encounter/experience.  For those of you with access to social media, post your picture on your social media page with the caption, “25 Days of Fearlessness.” Also write a brief description of how your picture illustrates God’s greatness.  Relate that image to the challenge(s) you face that day.  Use your image to remind you of who God is and who He has created you to be.  Most of all have fun!! Happy posting/journaling.  See you tomorrow.

