A few weeks ago, shortly before New Year’s Eve, I was going through some old journals and reading over prayer requests from previous years. Many of those prayers had been answered in one form or another, while others still remained “unanswered.” For some reason, this made me ask the question: What does faith really look like? Immediately, I started thinking about Jesus’ ministry on Earth. More specifically, I started thinking about the people who Jesus impacted. As far as I could remember, I could not think of one where an individual’s prayer was not immediately answered the moment that they encountered Jesus. For example, the woman with the issue of blood had been bleeding for years, yet the moment she touched the hem of Jesus’ garment, she was healed by her faith in Jesus. The same could be said of the lepers, the lames and the blind. The MOMENT they encountered Jesus, their prayers were heard and answered.

Most of us know that God does not act on our timetable. His ways are not our ways, and His thoughts are not our thoughts. However, those stories did challenge the way I perceived my faith. I believe the reason why all of those people received an immediate response was because of the desperation of their fate. Jesus was all they had left. I am sure that the woman with the issue of blood must have seen all the experts of her day, assuming that she could have even afforded their services. The lepers were scorned, mistreated and exiled. Few people might have even cared enough to offer them assistance. I mean, how could they? Most people would have been scared for their own safety, as leprosy was a highly infectious disease at the time.

The people who came to Jesus were desperate. He was their last hope. In fact, He was their only hope. He HAD TO work. This made me ask myself the question: When was the last time I was that desperate? When was the last time I said, “Jesus HAS TO work?” I wonder how many of those “unanswered” prayers in my journal had to do with my own lack of desperation (i.e. lack of faith)?  How many times have I made God my last resort instead of my only hope?  With that being said, it’s important that I clarify one thing.  God’s ways are not our ways and His thoughts are not our thoughts.  Sometimes, no matter how hard we pray and believe, things just don’t work out the way that we anticipated.  Sometimes, God has plans that are different than ours, and even though we’ve exercised our faith, we still do not receive the answers we desire.  This purpose of this post is not to assert that all unanswered prayers are due to lack of faith, but to challenge the way we pursued Jesus.  I guess my question for all of us, including myself, is how desperate are we? Is Jesus our only hope?

Father,
Tonight, we come before you with desperation. We desperately want to make Jesus our only hope. We put our trust and faith in Him and Him alone. In your Word, You said that if we have faith the size of a mustard seed, we can command mountains to move. Today, we stand on your word and your promises and command the mountains in our lives to jump into the sea. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

