20130928_171358

Today, we are going to keep it real.  No airs.  No facades.  Just pure, raw nakedness.

Have you ever felt disappointed by God?  Never?  Be honest.  Some of you are disappointed right now.  You have stood on the Word.  You have stepped out in faith.  You have believe, and you have prayed.  However, you have not seen God move in your situation.  Now your situation appears more dire.  Now you are exhausted.  Now, you are humiliated.    Your enemies all seem to laugh and scoff at you.  What do you do now?  The God that you have told them would deliver you seems to be distant and silent.  Now even you have begun to believe that maybe He can’t or won’t rescue you.  You can’t minister to them because you are having a hard time trying to convince yourself.  Do you give up?  The Bible says that God is faithful even when we are not (2 Timothy 2:13).  So do you just give in?  Do you throw in the towel?  Why wouldn’t you?  Your heart is burdened from hurting.  Your hair is gray from worry.  Your eyes are heavy from crying.  Now is the time that even the most faithful would surrender.  What are you going to do?

I don’t know how many of you have every attempted a 30-minute work out on the Treadmill after a long day at work.  For me, getting past the first 15 minutes is the most difficult.  But once I push past that arduous time, I know I can complete the workout.  During the first 15 minutes, I am always tempted to quit.  There have been times when I have quit.  After some of the days that I have had, who would blame me anyway?  Here is the truth.  On several occasions, I would regret prematurely quitting my workout, especially when I noticed that my jeans have begun to fit a little tighter that I would like.  Alternately, I have never regretted completing my workout.  In fact, I usually have a sense of accomplishment when I brave the 30-minute course.  By the end of the workout, the stresses of the day usually melts away.  All my negative thoughts become replaced by positive one.  Oftentimes, I even begin to envision the benefits of having worked out.

The Bible says that we have an enemy who has come to kill, steal and destroy (John 10:10).  He has come to kill our spirit, steal our joy and destroy our hope and faith.  When the enemy attack, we need to make sure that we are wearing the full armor of God so that after everything we can stand.

There is no miracle formula for faith.  If there were, someone would have been rich trying to sell it by now.  What we do know is that we have more to lose than gain if we quit before our time.  If we throw in the towel prematurely, there is no telling what we would be giving up.  We might be giving up the very thing that we have been waiting for.

