The final day of our prayer challenge has come upon us.  So, what do we do now? Now, we wait. Not quite the answer you were expecting, huh? Wait?  We just spent an entire week waiting and believing for God to move.  Surely, God is going to meet our faith now.  Surely our worlds are about to dramatically change.  The truth is, God’s army doesn’t always launch a frontal attack.  Sometimes, they take the path less traveled.  In other words, life doesn’t always happen according to plan.  It is quite possible that the blessings that God has in store for us could very well appear out of left field. None of us know what God has in store for us.  We just know that as believers, we have to stand firm on His Word.  Below are a few of the top lessons I have learned during this past season that will guide me, and hopefully, you, into the next chapter.  I hope they bless you too!

  1. God is still on the throne.

Isaiah 45:6-7

so that from the rising of the sun to the place of its setting people may know there is none besides me.  I am the Lord, and there is no other.I form the light and create darkness, I bring prosperity and create disaster; I, the Lord, do all these things, (NIV).

Psalm 22:28

28  For kingship belongs to the Lord, and he rules over the nations (ESV).

  1. God has not forgotten about you.

Isaiah 49:15-16

15 “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you!  16 See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me.

  1. You are either going to believe/trust God or you are not.  There is no middle ground.

Matthew 19:26

26 Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible,” (NIV).

  1. Wait with expectations.

Philippians 1:20

20 For I fully expect and hope that I will never be ashamed, but that I will continue to be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past. And I trust that my life will bring honor to Christ, whether I live or die.

Habakkuk 2:2-3 NLT

Then the lord said to me, “Write my answer plainly on tablets, so that a runner can carry the correct message to others. This vision is for a future time. It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled. If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place. It will not be delayed.

  1. If you find yourself explaining too much, STOP!

2Timothy 2:23-26

23 Don’t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels. 24 And the Lord’s servant must not be quarrelsome but must be kind to everyone, able to teach, not resentful. 25 Opponents must be gently instructed, in the hope that God will grant them repentance leading them to a knowledge of the truth, 26 and that they will come to their senses and escape from the trap of the devil, who has taken them captive to do his will, (NIV).

  1. Don’t justify/explain your blessings.

1 Samuel 16:7

7 But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart,” (NIV).

  1. Worry less. Fear less.  Pray more.

Isaiah 41:10

10 Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.  Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you.  I will hold you up with my victorious right hand, (NLT).

  1.  Eliminate excuses.

2 Corinthians 5:10

10 For we must all stand before Christ to be judged. We will each receive whatever we deserve for the good or evil we have done in this earthly body, (NLT).

  1. Love your enemy. Even pray for them.

Matthew 6:14-15

14 For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins, (NIV).

  1. Learn to say no. It’s okay to let your yes be yes and your no be no.

James 5:12

12 Above all, my brothers and sisters, do not swear—not by heaven or by earth or by anything else. All you need to say is a simple “Yes” or “No.” Otherwise you will be condemned, (NIV).

 

  1. Be strong and courageous.    

Joshua 1:9

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go,” (NIV).

 

  1. Embrace failure.

Romans 8:28

28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose (KJV).

  1. Know that you are stronger than you think.

Exodus 9:16

16 But I have raised you up for this very purpose, that I might show you my power and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth, (NIV).

  1. Look in the mirror, and embrace God’s masterpiece.

Ephesians 2:10

10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago, (NLT).

  1. Know that the same God who closes doors holds the blueprints for every construction site, and He can place a window wherever He so desires.

Isaiah 55:8-11

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.  “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.  10 “The rain and snow come down from the heavens and stay on the ground to water the earth. They cause the grain to grow, producing seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry. 11 It is the same with my word.  I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it, (NLT).

  1. LAUGH!

Job 8:21

21 He will once again fill your mouth with laughter, (NLT).

 

  1. LOVE!

John 3:16-17

16For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

  1. LET GO!

Ephesians 4:31

31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage, anger, harsh words, and slander, as well as all types of evil behavior. 32 Instead, be kind to each other, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you, (NLT).

Today, I pray that God will teach you how to laugh again and that you would not be jaded by the world’s shenanigans. I pray that you will love and live.  I pray that for each door that closes, God will increase your strength and wisdom in preparation for the next chapter.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen!!

