Last night it weighed on my Spirit to take another journey.  I hope you will join me again.  A few weeks ago, we went on a 30-day marriage prayer journey together, where we focused on our relationships with each other and with God.  This week I would like to go on a 7-day spiritual declaration/proclamation.  I feel in my heart that we have to purposefully and persistently proclaim God’s promises over our lives.  Many of us are waiting on a movement by God.  In those moments, we have to pray fervently and wait expectantly.   So, that was my thought last night.  This morning I got confirmation when I opened my Bible.  It opened up to Luke 11.  The passage was a message where Jesus was teaching His disciples how to pray.

“Suppose you went to a friend’s house at midnight, wanting to borrow three loaves of bread. You say to him, ‘A friend of mine has just arrived for a visit, and I have nothing for him to eat.’ And suppose he calls out from his bedroom, ‘Don’t bother me. The door is locked for the night, and my family and I are all in bed. I can’t help you.’ But I tell you this—though he won’t do it for friendship’s sake, if you keep knocking long enough, he will get up and give you whatever you need because of your shameless persistence.

“And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. 10 For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.

11 “You fathers—if your children ask for a fish, do you give them a snake instead? 12 Or if they ask for an egg, do you give them a scorpion? Of course not! 13 So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him,” (Luke 11:6-11, NLT).

Many of us have not because we ask not.  We have to begin speaking God’s promises over our lives and ask, not just once, but consistently.  There is an old adage that says, “The squeaky wheel gets the most oil.”

There are a host of reasons why many of us do not ask God for what we want.  There are some of us who believe that we are bothering God by petitioning Him with the desires of our hearts.  Some believe that our problems are too minute for the Creator of the Universe.  Some might even believe that God simply does not care about our trials.  Regardless of what you believe, I challenge you over this next 7 days to call out to Him.  Show your shameless persistence in prayer as you declare His promises over your life.  Like this persistent neighbor in the parable, keep knocking on His door until He answers.

DAY 1 DECLARATIONS:

Psalm 30:1

I will exalt you Lord, for you rescued me. You refused to let my enemies triumph over me (NLT).

Joshua 1:9

This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go,” (NLT).

Psalm 37:4

Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires(NLT).

I pray that this week God will begin to do a transformation in your life as you speak His will into existence.

